History WWW Resources

WWW Resources - Asian American History

TIP: Press Ctrl/f and enter a part of a word or phrase in the Find what: box and click on Find Next to search for a topic on this page. For example, type histor to search for history, histories, historical.

Academic Info: Asian American History
This list of links includes sites about Asian American history. The mission of Academic Info is to "[i]mprove access to online educational resources by developing an easy to use subject directory covering each academic discipline [and] [i]ncrease educational opportunities for students in rural and underrepresented communities by giving them the same online experience as students from more privileged communities."

Asian Americans in Washington State: Closing Their Hidden Achievement Gaps
This site was developed for The Center for the Study of the Pacific Northwest by Matthew W. Klingle, University of Washington Department of History. In includes an overview of Asian American history in the state of Washington, as well as an extensive bibliography.

Asian-Nation: The Landscape of Asian America
This site is created by a sociology doctoral student at the University of Albany at SUNY. Areas covered include Asian-American history, culture, dynamics, and contemporary issues.

Chinatown Resource Guide
This is a PBS site that provides links to resources about Chinatown.

The Japanese American Historical Society of San Diego: Resources
Research based articles, maps, and links to historical societies are available at this site.

Korean American Historical Society: Resources
This site includes full-text articles, bibliographies, and webliographies about Korean Americans and their history. "Founded in 1985, Korean American Historical Society (KAHS) is a nonprofit organization dedicated to enriching the collective memory of Korean Americans through collecting, maintaining, and transmitting the heritage and achievements of Koreans living in the United States and abroad."

Museum of the City of San Francisco: History by Subject: San Francisco--Chinese
This site, maintained by the Museum of the City of San Francisco, provides background information about the history of the Chinese people in San Francisco.

"Suffering Under a Great Injustice": Ansel Adam's Photographs of Japanese-American Internment
"In 1943, Ansel Adams (1902-1984), America's best-known photographer, documented the Manzanar War Relocation Center in California and the Japanese Americans interned there during World War II." This site is available at the Library of Congress American Memory project.

UCLA Asian American Studies Center
This site links to demographic data about Asian Americans and also provides summaries and review of literature currently being published in the field.

US Census Bureau: Asian and Pacific Islander Populations
This US Census Bureau maintains lists Asian American population statistics from 1990 to the present.

Last Update: 10 Jul 20:37 | Tagged with: history reviewed Web sites